Pattern gaskets - any experience?

The KettleClinic forum, it is free to become a member and free to use, we have additional information available to all members.
If you have not joined yet, do it now.

Please note the email for the signup should arrive within 15 minutes, if not, please check any spam or junk folders, if still not arrived please contact the forum
yeadon_m

Pattern gaskets - any experience?

Post by yeadon_m »

http://www.wemoto.com/bikes/Suzuki/GT_750_A_B/76-77/

Folks,
Wemoto are generally well-regarded but I have no experience of their gaskets. The price of head gaskets from Suzuki is eye watering and wemoto sell pattern gaskets are close to half that. I am always a bit worried by something not warrantied (pattern parts should work or they are a poor pattern) but at this much of a saving, I am considering it.

Anyone have any good or bad experiences to share from doing that on head gaskets?

Cheers,
Mike
BAZ

Re: Pattern gaskets - any experience?

Post by BAZ »

All the after market gaskets I have use were ok but the head gaskets are 1.8mm thick the genuine one is .8mm so you use a bit of compression. I use seagar engineering on ebay. Cheers BAZ http://myworld.ebay.co.uk/seager-engineering/
yeadon_m

Post by yeadon_m »

Good tip Baz - thanks. Just browsed Seager and they do pattern piston kits at various oversizes too.
I doubt I am going to care too much about a small reduction in compression. Its not like I am an racer. And if you are happy to use these gaskets, so I am :-)
Cheers,
Mike
BAZ

Post by BAZ »

One advantage of the thicker gadget is you don't get water leaks.
oldjapanesebikes

Post by oldjapanesebikes »

The past three gasket sets I've bought have been from these folks - I'm quite happy with them. They include the lower water pipe spigot gasket, as well as the oil pump o-rings which is nice. I also bought two sets of the front fork tubes they offer for the J/K and a few other things. No complaints.
==================================